Our Happy News

I have been meaning to write this post for weeks, because we’re so excited to share this news with everyone…

We are expecting a baby in January 2018!!!!

I am 19 weeks pregnant (almost half way there!) and it’s starting to feel even more real. I feel the baby move all the time and my baby bump is actually slightly noticeable! We will find out the gender in two weeks and I am predicting that we’re going to have a girl. (We’ll see though! We’d be super happy to have a boy as well.)

Pregnancy has been more difficult than I thought it would be with more nausea, food aversions, fatigue, and sleep disturbances than I expected. (At one point, I actually wondered if I could ever enjoy eating again. I am so glad I feel better now!) At the same time, being pregnant has helped me, or more accurately, forced me to slow down and rest more, it has allowed Daniel and others to help me more, and it has made me more amazed at the natural processes of life.

Have you ever thought about how we can’t force a baby to develop faster than it needs to? As excited as we are to meet our Little One, I am grateful for the time that Daniel and I have to prepare for birth and parenthood.

Pregnancy has made me think of the other natural processes I have experienced lately, like grieving for the baby we lost, adjusting to life changes (moving, ending my job, Daniel starting grad school), and working through emotions from my past. I can’t force myself to progress faster than I’m meant to.

As much as I want to move forward, I am learning to accept where I am and appreciate the small ways I have progressed.

I am learning to trust that the processes will happen in the time that they’re meant to, even if things are confusing and don’t makes sense right now. Having more patience and compassion for myself and trust in God’s timing has been really good for me. I look forward to teaching our baby this lesson one day. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Our Happy News

    1. Thank you, Brother Ellsworth! I loved serving in your ward. I know I have a lot to learn as a mother, but I think serving a mission definitely helped prepare me. Thanks for your support!

      Like

  1. I love reading you post. I have lost my way with god. Iam trying to get back. I specially love the part were you say trust in God’s timing; something I’ve been having problems with. Joe and I have been trying for 3 years now for another little,I’ve been a little inpatient. That part really spoke to me. Thanks for sharing your story. Your going to be a wonderful mother.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Misty, thanks for sharing your thoughts and your love!!! I’m glad you enjoyed reading my post. I agree that it can be so tough to trust in God’s timing when we can’t see how everything is going to work out. I can imagine that it is especially hard to wait for another baby, like you guys are. What I try to remember is that God can see from a much larger perspective and He knows how all things will work together for your greatest good. I hope that you will find some time when you can pray and talk with God about how you feel. As you seek Him, He will draw closer to you and will guide you to what He wants you to do next. I love you and I’ll be praying for you!!

      Like

  2. I’m. So happy for you guys. And was. Sorry. To hear. Of your. Lost as i didn’t. Know. But. As you. Told me keep the. Faith. As god give. Us only what we can hold. For. The future is. His. We are here to. Serve. Him. The rest is togive back to widows. And orefiends in jn his son i ask

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment